Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mendelssohn: The Hebrides and Other Overtures

Author(s): R. Larry Todd

ISBN: 9780521407649
Publication Date: 30/09/1993
Pages: 132
Format: Paperback
Regular price £22.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £22.99 GBP

🚚 Free UK delivery on books (excluding sale). T&Cs apply.

Free click & collect on all orders.

The concert overtures A Midsummer Night's Dream, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, and The Hebrides (Fingal's Cave), conceived by Mendelssohn before the age of twenty, have ranked amongst the most enduring of the nineteenth-century orchestral repertoire. R. Larry Todd offers a historical, stylistic, and analytical guide to these three remarkable works which secured for Mendelssohn no small measure of his fame. After placing the overtures in the context of Mendelssohn's astonishing compositional development during the 1820s, the volume disentangles the complex history of their creation and considers in turn their style and formal structure, their contents as programme music, aspects of their orchestration and their reception and influence. All this is supported by a wealth of primary documents, including Mendelssohn's correspondence, memoirs of his friends, and nineteenth-century critical reviews.